Social Situation difficulty?

Do any other brain injury victims out there find social situations difficult?

Trying to listen to what is said during a conversation, process it, figure out what was said actually means, think of something relevant to say back, and then say it is extremely taxing on me. I get tired just thinking about it!

But it’s not how much it tires me out that I find the most difficult. No, it’s the finding something relevant to say.

Often times I understand what was said incorrectly then I say something completely irrelevant to the conversation.

People usually just ignore my outburst any move on with the conversation. But it leaves me standing there wondering, “why did I just say that.”

I have learned to sit back and listen to the conversation, make sure I fully understand what the subject of the conversation is, think about something to say, repeat it in my head to myself, then contribute to the conversation by exclaiming my answer.

This has seemed to work well for me and I suggest it  to any one whom struggles  with the same problem as I.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Janna Wheeler  On January 8, 2015 at 12:15

    Thank you for sharing this. I have the same problems so I am going to try to sit back and listen to the conversation, make sure I fully understand what the subject of the conversation is, think about something to say, repeat it in my head to myself, then contribute to the conversation by exclaiming my answer. I get mad at my self some times because I can not keep put with the conversation and need to take a break. I guess its all about practicing.

  • gm1123  On January 8, 2015 at 19:28

    A lot of times I don’t hang around friends I usually do or did. I sometimes close myself off bc I don’t feel a connection. Sometimes, I grasp for words to start a conversation. It sucks. I don’t want to put myself through that so a lot of times I choose to stay by myself. And then I get lonesome. Also, I guess the codependent in me latches on to my significant other. And I latch too hard, and that brings stress to the relationship and I beat myself up for it. Meh….this brain injury is no fun at all! Grateful for these blogs and support from others who know how we feel. Take care y’all!

  • number1weighloss  On January 23, 2015 at 22:13

    Hi Zachary! I found your youtube videos today while researching TBIs and how to stimulate someone still in a semi coma. My brother in-law had and accident almost 3 wks ago… fell down stairs at a friends house and hit his head of the concrete wall in the basement. He has a left hemicraniectomy and bruising on certain parts of his brain. He’s been off sedation since last Monday and he is just starting to wake up a little… opening eyes, moving them, but not following commands. I found your videos and website to be very helpful. The reason I was so interested in your story is we are at umass in worc, and he is going be going to Spaulding for rehab. I plan on buying your book, but I would really love to chat with you. Feel free to email me. I’m so glad to know you recovered so well and created this page to help others!

  • Jermaine  On November 4, 2015 at 13:50

    I fortunately and unfortunately wish I could not feel like you are my clone with your story I was in a coma myself for close to 3 months back in the early 1990’s
    While missing the birth of my now 22 year old grown man son Xavier Jermaine been in wheel chair and rehab hopefully getting prayers answered just got baclofen pump surgery done that hopefully get me back to walking.
    again even if with cane.

Leave a Reply

