A completely new person

Its amazing how you are one person and in an instant it changes.

For me I was a star athlete in high school and boy did my life change ever so much when I got into my car accident that day. The weekend before I was going to my junior prom as dumb and dumber (that’s right I went to prom as dumb and dumber-I was the orange one).

But anyways, I was this fun loving teen who everyone loved to be around and was an exceptional athlete; all that changed the day I got into my car accident. I woke unable to walk, talk, a different person than the fun loving teen that everyone loved in high school.

Now, I looked as I faced probably my hardest challenge in my recovery. Not learning how to walk again or learning how to direct my arm again but the identity crisis that ensued. I had no idea who I was. I knew who I used to be but I could not be that person any more. No instead, I had to find where I fit into society now and how to do it which most people accomplish in their early years.

All through out my time in college, I began searching for who I was supposed to be. “Who am I now?” is the question I often times asked myself.

The struggle was un-relentless and still to this day I am still not a 100% sure on where I fit. I can write well so I do that, this is pretty much my thought process when trying to find something that I can identify with.

It is truly amazing how fast life can change in a blink of an eye! you are one person one minute then you open your eyes from a month long coma and you now must be someone else.  Its not like you chose to be this person either, you have no choice. The person has been chosen for you.

It is up to us to either sit back and say I’m not going to fight to be who I want to be or who I am comfortable with or keep pushing to be who we want or who we were meant to be!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lee Staniland  On November 15, 2012 at 10:15

    That was great Zak. Writing down your thoughts is a wonderful thing. You see I am a little different from a lot of us. I really like the person I have become. Maybe that is because I got my physical self back and that is always what I I have done. I never did too much mental stuff. and then I was 25 when my BI happened so I had already done all me WILD LIVING. I was married when my accident happened and I divorced him 10 years later and married a new man.
    I am 60 years old now and I’m happy. I always feel so bad for all of you that never got to experience a all the great things as a teen. I’m sure that is why I don’t feel that I missed anything because I had done it.
    I pray you find your new self and love him as much as the old self.
    Your friend always,
    Lee Staniland
    anytime you would like to talk to an old and experienced BI, please write to me at leechar101@yahoo.com

  • Stephen Wadsworth  On November 15, 2012 at 20:33

    This is very similar to what I went through when I had an automobile accident in 1988. I am 43 now and doing good except for my right side-hemiparisis, but I am thankful for my life. My faith and family helped me make it through. Good luck Zak and may God bless you

  • Mike  On August 28, 2013 at 19:14

    It only takes a split moment to forever change your life! I had an incident where I became a TBI candidate back in January 2013m, and my life has now been forever changed. Vision screwed, motor function off kilter, and the noticable impairment is undeniable.
    Ive been told that in order to find a rainbow, you must endure the rain storm.

  • gm1123  On November 30, 2014 at 06:35

    My brain injury was 14 years this December. Car accident as well. I can relate to a lot of what you say here. Thank you and best of luck.

Leave a Reply

