Drink Coffee Only When Tired

I know a lot of you brain injury survivors rely on coffee to assist you through your day. I do the same thing but I have a tip that may be able to help many of you. Now, this tip works for me and like many of my posts helps me so I would like to share it with you.

I don’t drink coffee to get a kick start on my day. Many people I know drink coffee first thing, right when they wake up. This works great…if you need it. If you can carry on with your morning with the absence of coffee then do it! If you don’t need the caffeine then why ingest it, your body only gets used to it. In time it will have less of an effect on your body.

I will go throughout the day without coffee, if i can. If I ever begin to feel the fatigue set in, then I go for the coffee. The caffeine helps me jump start my body, almost helps me wake up my brain when it starts feeling tired.

I don’t drink coffee all the time because that way whenever I am in need of a “jump start” I can seek out coffee or a caffeinated beverage and get it.

See if you keep drinking beverages containing caffeine, your body grows immune to it. It will stop having the effect that we seek, when we reach for coffee.

Sometimes I will be at work and after I train a couple clients or work with the kids in summer camp, my brain feels “full”. I lose my ability to focus and concentrate. In between clients I go to the coffee machine. I press the espresso or latte button on the machine. It dispenses the hot beverage and after I drink it I feel great. I am ready for my next client.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • lee  On July 25, 2011 at 10:56

    It is a known fact the caffeine affects us more then the Normies. I use to drink coffee right after my accident and it got to if someone said BOO to me I would cry. So I stopped and went to tea. Decaf and reg mixed together. Now I drink green tea which is so good for you in so many ways. Good advise tho and good job like always.

  • Biat Braininjuryassocoftn  On August 10, 2011 at 16:26

    Zach–I, too, have realized that caffeine affects me more than the “normies.” My doctor recently “encouraged” me to get off the 12 shots of espresso every day, and I have discovered that I feel better, in addition to being able to sleep through the night!

    Feel free to check out my blog at http://lifewithheadinjury.wordpress.com.

  • Rachel Bell  On May 25, 2013 at 03:32

    My husband suffered a stroke after brain surgery back in 2010 and his reaction to coffee is that he loses the ability to slow down and focus on what people are saying to him and also he needs to read something a few times before he completely understands what he’s read. Does anyone else here have similar problems? I’ve told him to stay clear of coffee at work or here at home because for me it’s hard to have a conversation with him when he can’t seem to focus on what i’m saying to him. He loses track of the conversation. Without he’s almost normal and a lot easier to talk to. Super curious if this happens to other brain injured people. Thanks a bunch.

Leave a Reply

