Stop the shaking

Sometimes when I am excited, nervous or tired; one of my extremities will shake. An example of this is when I do the leg press machine at my gym. I get off the machine and my left leg is fatigued. When I stand as I allow my body to cover my leg, especially around my knee joint will shake out of control.

It’s very annoying.  So sometimes I get off the machine and limp, grab my leg, create expressions of pain on my face to give people a reason why my leg is shaking. That way if someone looked at me and saw my leg shaking they would say to themselves “oh, he’s in pain and that’s why he is limping.”

But I remembered something that my physical therapist had told me. He told me that if my leg began to shake, to push through my heel and this would resolve the shaking.

This works when I am dealing with nervousness or when I am anxious but when I am fatigued (during a strenuous workout) nothing helps. It has gotten better over the years and as I continue to run a mile everyday, the shaking has seemed to subside.

I think that may have something to do with it. I believe that running everyday has strengthen the nerves in my body and have made the connections stronger. I also began taking longer rests in between sets. This gives my body time to recover so that I am able to focus on the task at hand.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Todd  On June 6, 2011 at 12:00

    It’s called Clonus. I too have it. Pressing through your heel, Dorsi flexing your foot, activates different muscles and allows the pressure to be re-aligned in the foot. My clonus is really bad when I am weight bearing on the ball of my foot. Such as pressing on a gas pedal for a car.
    ~Todd G.

Leave a Reply

