Headaches/ Migraines

It’s something that we, as brain injury survivors, must live with. Excruciating headaches or migraines that just won’t go away. The pain is unlike anything that we have ever felt. These headaches occur when ever I concentrate too hard on anything, whenever I get excited or even when I get confused.

These headaches are annoying and a nuisance but it’s something that we must live with. The way I try to prevent these from occurring is I like to take naps to try and prevent my brain from working to hard. When I start to think to much is when I usually get headaches.

I like to think of it this way, my brain is at normal size before I start to think about things. As I start to think about things or begin to stress from things I picture my brain swelling and it gets so big that it begins to push up against my skull. This produces my pain/ headache/ migraine.

I do not know if this is true or not but this is what I in vision happening to my brain. I say again this is just what I picture happening inside my head. This allows me to believe that if I can make my brain swelling go down, before it reaches my cranium, I will avoid having a headache.

When I can feel my head getting what I like to call “full”. I try to stop thinking about whatever it is that is getting me excited. The only way I feel I truly can stop thinking is by going to bed. I try to sleep, even for a little, I usually am able to avoid having a headache/ migraine.

Sometimes they are unavoidable and you can’t fight it. No matter what you do, it just grows stronger and stronger. In these cases I have a solution that works great for me. RELPAX. Talk to your doctor and have him prescribe the prescription drug Relpax.

This makes headaches disappear for me. You take it the moment you start feeling a headache coming on. Right when you feel that first twinge of a headache you take the first pill. It’s almost as if it kills the headache from even maturing into a headache.

If you have a problem with headaches, please take my advice…get relpax!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Lee Staniland  On December 18, 2010 at 15:33

    You have only been in this new life a couple of years and seem to be clumping us all together. You have to remember that each BI is different. it all depends on where on your brain you where injured.
    I know for me, I had a head-ache for the first couple of years. Everyday. But now I get them from stress, change in the weather, and like you say, where you head gets to FULL of information.( it’s nice to know that someone else feels thart way too) There are many reasons for a headache and I think that we are more prone or just become so much more aware of them.
    My worst ones seem to be sinus-migrain headaches. Most of the time to get rid of them I have to take a sinus pill and a migrain pill. If I take just 1 of them, it doesn’t go away.I also find that when my body is fighting off some other illness, 1 of the symtoms is always a headaches.

    • zgauvin  On December 18, 2010 at 18:13

      I am not clumping any one in the same group as I Lee. I am simply telling people what I do and what I have done and suggesting that it may help them. Thank you for your comments…you provide good information.

Trackbacks

  • By Medica-Now.com on December 19, 2010 at 11:00

    Concussed high school athletes who receive neuropsychological testing sidelined longer…

    ScienceDaily (Dec. 15, 2010) — When computerized neuropsychological testing is used, high school athletes suffering from a sports-related concussion are less likely to be returned to play within one week of their injury, according to a study in The Am….

Leave a Reply

