Have a Little Fun with It

This post is about the way I went about my rehab. I laughed all the time during my stint in rehab. I looked at rehab as something that was a minor speed bump in my life. I almost (for lack of a better word) treated rehab as a Joke.

The truth was, reality was just too hard to deal with and I didn’t want to deal with it, didn’t want to come to the realization that I may never regain full use of my hand again or never be able to play baseball again.

Every time I would fail in any aspect of my recovery I would simply laugh it off. That’s right I would literally think that I couldn’t walk was funny.

This one time my mother left the room when I was in rehab and I tried to get out of the bed and go to the bathroom on my own. I fell and my feeding tube got disconnected from my stomach and leaked all over myself and the floor. My mother came back to the room, only to find me laughing hysterically on the floor.

This was the best way, the only way for me to cope with how sad this situation really was for me. This how I still cope with everything.

The littlest things piss me off and I’ll swear and get angry but the big things I just laugh off it’s almost like because I expect the big bad things to happen so I don’t get as mad but when something little or something that isn’t suppose to go wrong does then I get heated.

People say that now I am a very happy, go lucky individual. Everyone loves my outlook in life and I believe it’s all due to this.

I have seen the worse, I have dealt with it and I laughed my way through it.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • laura meade  On December 13, 2010 at 19:17

    every day i realize just how lucky i am

Leave a Reply

