Awesome Attitude

I was  eating lunch with my friend David. We were talking about what we were up to as of late. He told me that he had been talking to an agent in California. I told him all about my book and how I am helping people with brain injuries like myself.

After I was done talking about everything that I had been doing. He was smiling and laughing. I asked him “what’s so funny?” He answered back “The way you talk, you talk like every things alright, like every things good.”

I explained to him that every thing is good, everything is alright. I said to him “You have never gone to bed at night wishing to not wake up in the morning” refferring to my time in inpatient rehab. I couldn’t walk, couldn’t talk, couldn’t do anything and now I do whatever I want. I’m alive and doing great things every thing is good.

This is the attitude you should develop after you have almost fully recovered from or injury. Actually, this attitude helped me through many hard times during my recovery. When ever something wouldn’t go my way I would just say to myself, “at least your alive dude.”

I know its hard to develop this attitude when nothing is going your way but remember you have a second chance at life. It’s not going to be easy to recover fully from this injury, a lot of people do not, heck I even haven’t and they call me the Miracle Kid.

You must stick with it and in time you will develop this attitude. Like every thing is “good”, like every thing is “alright”.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • onthemarkwriting  On November 17, 2010 at 11:27

    So true! As the basketball slogan goes, “Attitude determines altitude.” The danger comes when maintaining a good attitude leads to denial. But there is nothing wrong with thinking and having the ability to think positively.

    With the occurrence of concussions on and off the playing-field, people need to know what to do when someone they know endures a concussion. I’ve found a website that provides advice how a concussion needs to be handled.

    http://www.braininjurytn.org/announcements.html

  • onthemarkwriting  On November 17, 2010 at 11:29

    Sorry, got distracted…I applaud you and your efforts to establish a support community for BI survivors. Good luck with your book, too.

    • zgauvin  On November 17, 2010 at 19:07

      Thank you, how long have you been working with brain injuries?

  • laura meade  On December 2, 2010 at 23:56

    ROCK ON ZACH!

Leave a Reply

