Naps

NAPS are going to be your best friend during your recovery. I know they were mine! When ever I would get annoyed by people, when ever I would get tired of trying to focus both mentally and physically I would tell my self that I needed a nap.

Naps are great because you go into your nap as one person and come out a totally different person. One who is rejuvenated and ready to take on what ever the day brings.

Your brain swells when ever you concentrate to much or do to much (have a long day). This causes you to have headaches. When you take a nap your brain stops thinking about all the stressful things, you were thinking of before.

The swelling goes down, you also get more energy. You wake up from your nap without a headache and with energy to listen to what others have to say and energy to do physical things.

Naps help me with everything. I used to do rehab or go to the gym and work out hard; come back home and go right to sleep. I wouldn’t even have the energy to take a shower!

But when I woke up from my nap, I could take on what ever task the day would bring.

I take naps when I’m bored. Instead of watching the television or something I will go lay in my bed to pass the time. I love it because you recharge your battery but you are also in a stress free environment for that time period.

I take naps even before I’m tired. A couple months after my accident, if I was going out and I knew it was going to be a long night, I would take a nap before I would even go out. Almost in a effort to make sure that I went out with a fully charged battery.

Naps helped me through out my recovery, I suggest you take them as well. I mean I still take them. I may be almost fully recovered but I don’t think I’ll ever be recovered enough for a nap. I love naps now when I take them I hardly ever sleep. I usually just end up closing my eyes, but it passes time.

This is unlike when I was initially recovering from my accident. When I was tired I would lay my head down and I would fall into a heavy sleep. Nothing could wake me. When you need sleep, you need sleep. Don’t deprive your body of what it needs.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • James Duane  On November 23, 2010 at 02:35

    Thank you for sharing this. I was concerned about how often I sleep since my brain injury but sounds like it’s normal. Now to strike a balance with the meds to sleep when I want to sleep.

Leave a Reply

