First things, First

My name is Zach Gauvin, I was involved in a serious car accident in April of 2006. I sustained a traumatic brain injury; was medically induced into a coma for a month. I then had to complete two months of rehab, where i had to learn how to walk, talk, and practice thinking strategies. I have created this blog because I want to help people with brain injuries because I know how hard it was for me. But this blog is for anyone who may be interested in educating themselves on how to recover and what life is like recovering from a brain injury.

IF YOU WANT TO LEARN MORE ABOUT ME GO TO MY WHO AM I? SECTION. CLICK ON THE LINK BELOW:

https://supportforbraininjuries.wordpress.com/about/

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • David  On October 14, 2010 at 17:14

    Go Go Go.

    Great story. How are your cognitive skills. One weird question that no one asks. Do you like the new you? do you miss the old you? I do more since my accident.

    • zgauvin  On October 14, 2010 at 22:07

      Good question David, my cognitive skills are pretty good. They took a lot of hard work and a lot of rehab to get there though. To answer your “weird” question (thats really not that weird), the truth of the matter is that I like my new self, rather than the old. I say this because yes it was a very hard journey to get to where I am but at the end of it all, it has made me a better person. I used to be an alcoholic but now I can control myself. I also, have a great mind set now that I can accomplish anything! One question for you- I’m unsure what you meant, do you like you more now or you before the accident?

  • David  On October 14, 2010 at 22:32

    LOL that is a great questions. Before my accident I was very calm and relaxed. However I was lazy. Lot’s of video games, lot’s of pizza, total couch potatoe.

    Since my accident, high stress, high anxiety, but I get things done. Marathon, Ironman, running across the country. Things don’t come as easy and I get frustrated way easier

    • zgauvin  On October 14, 2010 at 23:33

      Wow, that’s great to hear. Things that help me with frustration are taking naps whenever I can and be as organized as possible. You will see a difference, I promise you. This is because you already have everything in order and if you have a good schedule to stick to your day will be much more fluid. I get frustrated when things go wrong and they stress me out. But if you have everything in order, less will go wrong and you will have less to stress you out.

Leave a Reply

